This article outlines how the Waiting List functionality works in the software.
In order for the Wait-List to be added as an option for a specific Service, Users must configure this in the Service directly.
Users should select SERVICES and then select EDIT on the Service that they want to configure the Wait-List for.
Users should scroll to the "Waiting List" section and select ENABLED to turn this feature on for this specific Service.
Users can also configure to limit the waiting list by selecting ENABLED on the LIMIT WAIT LIST section and then enter a number of the MAX field. If "5" is entered in this field, only 5 people will be able to join the waiting list after which the appointment will show as "FULL" on the Schedule.
Users should also configure the RESTRICT TO BOOK PRIOR field as this specific field marks the Service as CLOSED. So if this is set to 10mins, the class will close at this time period and also no one can be automatically added into the session from the Wait-List should someone LATE CANCEL their booking.
If User Permissions has been configured to show the REGISTER button on the appointment controls, then Users can select this to view details of the appointment attendees and also view a list of those that are on the Waiting List.
Once Users select the REGISTER button, they can see a list of all the Clients that have booked into the Occurrence.
Here Users will be able to see a list of Clients who have booked showing in an added order.
If Users select the WAITING LIST button, they are taken to the Waiting List overview page. Here they can view a list of all Clients that have been added to the Waiting List and also see some controls which can enable them to control the order in which Clients are on the Waiting List.
When a Client makes a booking and is added to the booking this becomes a Scheduled_Client_Occurrence. The Client has a confirmed booking and in most cases (depending on system billing configuration) a credit for the Service is immediately deducted from their prepaid balance. If RESTRICT TO BOOK WITH ADVANCE CREDITS is ENABLED, Clients will only be able to make a booking if they have a Credit for this Service.
A Client can only be added to an occurrence if the following is configured:
- The Client does not have another booking at the same time or an overlapping time period.
- Club Settings have been configured to allow Clients to JOIN or SELF BOOK a Service
- Club Settings have not been configured to limit DAILY or FUTURE BOOKINGS and the Client has reach either of these limits.
- The Client can see the occurrence on the Schedule
- The Service has been configured so that the Client can see the JOIN button (which is controlled by the RESTRICT TO BOOK IN ADVANCE period
- The booking is not within the RESTRICT TO BOOK PRIOR period (class closing period)
- The Service has been configured with an AGE RESTRICTION and the Client is of the correct age to make the booking
- The Service Status is configured as ACTIVE instead of READ ONLY
- The Client has a credit to make the booking when RESTRICT TO BOOK ONLY WITH ADVANCE CREDITS is enabled.
A Client can be added to a Waiting List without the need for a credit as the Client does NOT have a confirmed booking. The Client booking status becomes Waitlisted_Client_Occurrence. As the booking is NOT yet confirmed no credit is deducted from a prepaid balance.
As the Wait-Listed state is not a confirmed booking, a Client can add themselves into an actual booking where they have a Scheduled_Client_Occurrence status, and add themselves onto one or more wait-lists. We see this a lot in Clubs where Clients hedge their bets on classes that they want to attend. The Class they actually want may be full so they add themselves into other classes or onto Wait Lists so they can decide later what class they actually want to attend.
When a Client books themselves onto the Waiting List, if the Client has a credit (and needs one) for this booking, then the credit will not be deducted from their balance until such a time that they have been added to the booking and are no longer on the Waiting List.
If the Client is on the Wait List and does have a credit for the Service, at the time they reach #1 on the Wait List and someone in the occurrence cancels, they are added into the occurrence and the credit is immediately deducted from their prepaid balance. If the Client does not have a credit for the Service at the time they are about to be added into the occurrence, they are removed from the Wait List and not added to the occurrence.
When a booking is about to be made, the software performs a PRE-CHECK to identify if it is likely that the Client can be added into the booking.